on love

I was reading this blog post, http://penny-arcade.com/2013/10/09 by Jerry Holkins, over at Penny Arcade, and it made me sad, to know that his father is passing, and they’ve had such a difficult relationship. And then, it made me introspective.

It’s so easy to be hurt by the people closest to you, and to feel resentment when they let you down. And I hate it. There’s nothing I hate more than pent up rage. Say what you need to fucking say. Talk your feelings out. Don’t lash out because the world isn’t perfect. Work your hardest to make sure your slice of the world sized pie is the best that it can be, and be grateful for every small thing, even if it doesn’t seem like much.

It’s hard to appreciate what you have.
It’s harder still to choose love in adversity or hard times.
I never want to feel weighed down with resentment because the world isn’t good enough.

The world is what the world is, and people, in all their different forms, are what they are.

 

If you’re reading this and I’ve never told you I love you, I’m sorry. You deserve to be told.
I love you mom and dad. Through everything.
I love you family. I love you friends. I love you guy that said hello on the street corner.

I love what you teach me. I love when you understand me. I love being challenged to think and see life in new ways. I love when you make me laugh, or cry, or prove me wrong. I love when you forgive me for being a human sized pile of fecal matter.

I love that I have a life to live, and that I have love to give.

Thank you.

 

Elishiva Out

 

Leave a comment